County Overview

Location: Lies in the mid west of the Rift Valley and borders six counties namely Elgeyo Marakwet County to the East, Trans Nzoia to the North, Kericho to the South, Baringo to the South East, Nandi to the South West and Bungoma to the West.

Area (Km 2): 3,345.2 Km 2

Climate/Weather: Temperatures range from a minimum of 8.4°C to a maximum of 27°C. It has two rainy seasons with average rainfall from 900mm to 1,200mm per annum.

Road Network: Bitumen Surface (309.6Km), Gravel Surface (549Km), Earth Surface (377.2Km)  

Showing Subcounties




As of 2009 Census


Surface Area

As of 2016


Share of Urban Population

As of 2009 Census


Population Density

As of 2009 Census


Poverty Rate

As of 2016

No data

Some Strengths of Uasin Gishu County include:

     • Natural resources as Forests

     • Tourist Attractions as Scenic Beauty, Sports Tourism, Cultural Tourism, Eco-Tourism

     • Main Economic Activities large-scale maize, wheat farming, dairy farming, sports (Athletics), manufacturing and agro processing

Potential Minerals: silica, gold, tin, garnet, iron ore  

Number of Institutions (2007): Primary (771), Secondary (158), Tertiary (14)

Primary: Total Enrollment (184,954)

Teacher to Pupil Ratio: 1: 42.1 (Public Schools)

Secondary: Total Enrollment (14,712)

Teacher to Pupil Ratio: 1:30.9 (Public Schools)

Tertiary: Moi University.  

Health Facilities: Dispensaries (88), Health Centres (23), Sub District (2), District (1), Others (10)

Doctor to Patient Ratio: 1:10,034

Infant Mortality Rates: 54/1000

Under Five Mortality Rates: 81/100|)

Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, Respiratory infections, water borne diseases

Notable Hospitals: Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital.  

County Financial Information

County Fees and Charges

No Matching Results

County Revenue Law Status

Legislation Status
Trade Licensing Bill no update
Public Participation Bill no update
Revenue Administration Bill no update
Rating Bill no update
Finance Bill no update
Revenue Bill Status for Counties as at 15th May, 2017. Source: Commission for Revenue Allocation.