County Overview

Location: The county borders Samburu County to the North, Isiolo County to the Northeast, Meru County to the South, Nyeri to the South, Nyandarua County to the Southwest, and Baringo County to the west.

Area (Km 2): 9,462.0 Km 2

Climate/Weather: Has an annual relief rainfall varying between 400mm and 750mm with a mean annual temperature ranging between 160C and 260C

Road Network: Bitumen Surface (139.3 Km), Gravel Surface (353.7 Km), Earth Surface (573.4 Km)  

Showing Subcounties

Laikipia west
Laikipia east
Laikipia north



As of 2009 Census


Surface Area

As of 2016


Share of Urban Population

As of 2009 Census


Population Density

As of 2009 Census


Poverty Rate

As of 2016

No data

Some Strengths of Laikipia County include:

    • Natural resources as Indigenous Forests, Wildlife, Rivers

    • Tourist Attractions as Ole Pejeta Conservancy, Laikipia Plateau Reserve, Thompson Falls, Caves

    • Main Economic Activities include Horticulture, Mixed Farming, Livestock Farming and sand harvesting along river beds  

Number of institutions (2007): Primary (347), Secondary (91)

Primary: Enrolment (85,424)

Teacher to Pupil Ratio: 1:37 (Public Schools)

Secondary: Enrolment (22,091)

Teacher to Pupil Ratio: 1:29 (Public Schools)

Tertiary: More than 14 Institutions

Adult Literacy Classes: Not available  

Health Facilities: District Hospitals (2), Sub-District Hospitals (None), Dispensaries (56), Health Centres (8), Medical Clinics (9), Nursing Homes (2), Other (3)

Doctor to Population Ratio: 1:50,000

Infant Mortality Rates: 50/1000

Under Five Mortality Rates: 60/1000

Prevalent Diseases: Malaria, Diarrheal diseases, Bronchopneumonia Notable Hospitals: Rumuruti and Nanyuki District Hospitals  

County Financial Information

County Fees and Charges

No Matching Results

County Revenue Law Status

Legislation Status
Trade Licensing Bill Passed
Public Participation Bill Passed
Revenue Administration Bill Executivee
Rating Bill undergoing public participation
Finance Bill Not passed
Revenue Bill Status for Counties as at 15th May, 2017. Source: Commission for Revenue Allocation.